Getting to Know Me!

Lovely ladies Z and Cinder are doing a blog challenge and anyone can join! Topic of week 40 is “Getting to know you”, You can find other people’s posts on their websiteDuring my break, I missed a few blog challenges (including making 2019 bucket list and it’s now August, oops) but I can still do this one! It’s almost a year old but I’ve had it half-finished for months so I might as well finish it, right?

comfy_questions

1. How do you drink your tea?

Either green tea or English Breakfast with milk and sugar. I recently bought hazelnut milk and found out that it’s a great combo with black tea so I imagine that will be happening a lot.

2. Favourite dessert?

I didn’t find English translation but “makovec” in my language. It’s made from flour, milk and poppy seeds. It’s delicious and so easy that I can do it myself!

3. Favourite season and why?

Autumn. It’s too cold in winter and too hot in summer and we haven’t had a spring for years so autumn it is. It’s a very cosy season and the nature is at its most beautiful.

4. What cheers you up?

Cute animal videos/gifs (like this lovely account The Golden Ratio that has daily snaps from a household with six golden retrievers) and music. I recently got back into metal music after many, many years so now I’m rediscovering bands I listened to before (like Amaranthe – have an awesome song) and also discovering new ones (like Dynazty – have another awesome song and yes, that’s the same singer in both of those bands, Nils Molin, I might have a crush on him). I even stepped way out of my comfort zone and went to Dynazty’s concert which was absolutely amazing and well worth the massive amount of anxiety the whole thing gave me. Even thinking about it cheers me up because I proved to myself that I can do these things even if they scare me.

I now have an electronic keyboard at home and I started playing again and also singing and that makes me happy. After years of not training, I’m a bit rusty but it’s going well so far. I also randomly decided to learn knitting. I have some supplies my maternal unit gave me years ago in an effort to get me into it (“You’re a woman! You should know at least something useful!”) which unsurprisingly didn’t lead to anything other than a serious case of eye rolls but with the amount of DnD streams I’m watching these days, I need something to do with my hands so I gave knitting a try. I’m still terrible at it but I’m seeing progress and I’m enjoying it!

Also DnD streams. For example High Rollers Lightfall: The Descent where adventurers go to hell and battle demons and zombie dragons and try to get their friend’s soul back. It might not sound very cheerful but it’s actually a great story and a lot of fun!

5. Dogs or cats?

Both. Dogs are easier to snuggle though so they’re slightly better.

6. What’s your dream holiday?

Backpacking Europe. The whole continent.

7. How many kids do you want?

I want a bunny or a cat. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll get a pet because my apartment is tiny and I need to consider if they would be happy there.

8. Favourite weather?

Cloudy, about 21°C (69.8°F) with occasional rain.

9. What would your last meal be?

Vegeburgers, onion rings and apple juice.

11. If you were ghost, who or where would you haunt?

I would go back to my university and give stressed students ghostly hugs because studying is hard.

12. What is your family ancestry?

As white as you can be. Mostly Slavic with a bit of German (from the part of 20th century when you didn’t really want your family members to be German because there was a change they would turn out to be Nazis.. We don’t talk about my great-grandfather a lot..).

13. What scares you?

I have anxiety so everything. Making phone calls is scary. And I can’t watch horror movies because then I can’t sleep and I’m scared of zombies who definitely exist and want to eat me in my sleep.

14. What are you most grateful for?

The fact that my parental units had enough money to pay for my education and help me get a mortgage for my apartment.

15. Dream job?

Anything that pays well and doesn’t require me to work with other people. Maybe writing if I was good at it (and actually put any effort in it).

16. Do you believe in aliens?

Yes! They’re out there!

17. Favourite (e-)sport?

I like watching figure skating and Mythic Dungeon International.

18. How do you relax after a long day?

Video games, music, snuggling my teddy bear. Also food.

19. If you could meet one historical figure, who would you choose and why?

Toyen. They were a surrealist artist, possibly bi/pansexual and transgender/non-conforming and I want to go back in time and give them a hug (with their permisson, of course) and tell them their art is amazing and they’re valid.

20. If you had to be a teacher, what subject would you teach?

Either English language or European history. I was considering becoming a teacher and almost went to study it, I would teach Czech and English language and literature but fortunately, I changed my mind. I don’t think I would be a good teacher. I’m much happier being a librarian.

21. Describe your perfect day.

Breakfast in bed (either waffles or scrambled eggs), nice long bath, then WoW, reading a book, playing/watching Dungeons&Dragons, eating good food and then going to bed early and falling asleep to the sound of rain.

22. Describe yourself in one sentence.

I’m a person who has issues with fitting things into one sentence.

24. What superpower would you choose?

Teleportation. The world is too big and traveling is too expensive and bad for the environment.

25. Favourite animal.

Dogs, cats, dragons, bunnies, hamsters, unicorns.

26. Biggest accomplishment?

Getting my bachelor’s degree. That was f*cking hard and took way too long.

27. Show us your face!

A few people decided to share their pictures and the only usable picture of me I found was this. I guess I was feeling cute on a train a few years ago? Not sure what was happening there but here you go! It me! Hi!

20170909_113036

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s